Notice how many states are just meeting the minimum requirements of “liveable wage”? “Liveable wage” does not mean “comfortable”, it just means “the requirements have been met to not be homeless”. This is what it looks like when your entire country is just scraping by.
Eat the rich.
To adjust for inflation going by the bread example we would have to make 200k a year
i’m baffled by the people i keep seeing defining “experiencing homophobia/transphobia” as restricted to like, having interpersonal homophobic/transphobic abuse directed at you personally, and never encompassing anything so trivial as merely living in a society structured around the idea that you are less human and fundamentally defective and dangerous and shouldn’t exist, an idea which you cannot escape and which profoundly shapes your life and your understanding of yourself as a person, nah, why would that count
dear caretakers of children: stop telling kids “I don’t care who started it!”. you’re teaching children to ignore unequal power balances. that leads to legitimate belief in things like reverse racism, misandry, heterophobia, etc. you’re teaching children that it’s wrong to retaliate when they are wronged. “who started it” is very, very relevant.
It can also teach them that defending themselves is wrong and set them up for abuse later in life.
It always matters who started it. One person is defending themselves, and one person instigated it. When you tell them you “don’t care who started it” you’ve taught one of them that if they defend themselves they will be punished for doing so. You’ve taught the other one that they can do whatever they wish to others, no one will punish only them for it, their victim will be seen as equally accountable for what happened.
Is that really a lesson you want your kids to absorb?
Wow that is strange that it seems so normal to hear “I don’t care who started it!”
I…. wish I would have heard this more….
All these “zero tolerance policies” really ram home these same terrible lessons. In many schools, getting punched in the face is punished equally with punching someone in the face.
The way I see it, America will eventually have the choice between forgiving student debt or facing the massive destabilization caused by an entire generation being unable to build any wealth.
By destabilization I mean that the millennial generation will eventually become aware of the fact that they will be enslaved by their student debt for most of, if not their entire lives.
Many in this generation still had parents that were able to save and contribute financially to their children’s college education, but that’s also going to be a thing of the past when everyone has their own debt burden to carry well into adulthood – meaning the problem will become unimaginably worse for the next generation.
Once people realize this, you’ve got a social powder keg unheard of since the social question poised by the industrial revolution.
The entire student loan system is little more than a scheme meant to extract every last bit of present and future wealth from society’s youngest members, and the longer it continues, the uglier its inevitable end is going to be.
and so many millennials are choosing not to get married, or have kids because of all the debts they owe.
its having much more severe consequences than people want to admit.
PLUS!
One of the main critiques of socialism is that without the incentive to excel, no one will do their best job, and the system will fall apart as unmotivated people do worse and worse work. If you get the same housing and food and medical care whether you do good work or crappy work, why try?
But end-stage capitalism has the same problem, only without the guarantee of food and shelter. If you’re going to drown in debt your entire life and never be able to afford a house regardless of whether you work hard or don’t work hard, what incentive is there to slave away for your corporate masters?
We’re currently coasting on societally-imprinted work ethic and the myth that with hard work comes success. But as time goes by and it becomes more and more obvious that your hard work only enriches the oligarchs and you’ll never see a dime of that? Well before the powderkeg ignites we’ll see productivity drop through the basement because no one believes that being productive is worth the effort.
“If you’re going to drown in debt your entire life and never be able to
afford a house regardless of whether you work hard or don’t work hard,
what incentive is there to slave away for your corporate masters?”
finally drew some of this fic!! i live for bigkat and this fic is feeding my crops
WOAH!!! the animation in this is so lovely and this is almost exactly how i pictured this scene when i wrote it… dave’s flustered face is PERFECT and to see this drawn by one of my fave bigkat artists is such an honor, omg! thanks so much, and i’m glad you’re liking this fic so far! >:”)