There are long threads on twitter of doctors and nurses with literal decades of experience in pediatrics, trauma care, and emergency assistance talking about how they’ve tried volunteering their services at any of the centers where immigrant children are being held. Only they’re all being turned away and told DHS would prefer to work with volunteers who are ‘trained specifically for dealing with these situations’. One doctor with sixteen years of experience as a trauma doctor was told she was ‘overqualified.’
No. They’re turning away qualified medical practitioners looking to volunteer for the sake of the children, because said medical practitioners are mandated by law to report any child abuse they witness. The only doctors and nurses they want in those places are ones they can count on not saying anything about what goes on in there.
The fact that these doctors and nurses are trying to volunteer because they WANT to help these kids is literally what’s disqualifying them in the eyes of the evil pieces of shit who are running these places.
My boyfriend is triggered by Christmas and Christmas music. We were in a restaurant, and Christmas music was playing, and he started panicking so he went outside for a cigarette. The manager of the restaurant overheard him saying he had to get out, and changed the music over for the rest of the time we were there. There are safe spaces in the real world. People are nicer than you think. And bullshit people who try to tell you to get over your triggers, ain’t shit.
Honestly “the world is cruel get over it” is pretty easily translated to “I’m a complete asshole who doesn’t want to be held responsible for my sh*tty behavior”
It’s like, yeah, the world IS shitty. That’s WHY we need to try and make it less shitty.